Rogaine itching and flaking Log Out | Topics | Search
Hairloss-Reversible Home Page | Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Hairloss-reversible.com » Chemical Treatments » Rogaine itching and flaking « Previous Next »

Anonymous
Posted on Sunday, January 04, 2004 - 12:16 am:   Edit Post Delete Post

I've been using Rogaine with some sucess for about 6 months. About a week after I started using twice a day, it began itching unbarably and my scalp started to flake. Therefore, I cut it back to once a day. I still experience itching(usually about 20min after application) and flaking from time to time.

I've tried using Head and Shoulders, but it had little effect. I've read on here and several other forums that Nizoral could help. Here's where I take issue, from what I've read Nizoral seems to target the fungus that causes dandruff normally. My flaking is directly related to Rogaine and has nothing to do with fungus. I've never had dandruff before I started using Rogaine. I also read somewhere else that Tgel works better. Any suggestions?

PS: Does anyone else find it amusing that Rogaine claims only about 5% get the itching and flaking. My impression is that about 50% might be far more accurate.

Tom Hagerty
Posted on Sunday, January 04, 2004 - 07:36 am:   Edit Post Delete Post

Anonymous:

Nizoral is a good product. I use it just like I would a conditioner, but some people use it once a week as a shampoo. It does not, though, have any effect on the itching that one experiences with the use of Rogaine.

"Does anyone else find it amusing that Rogaine claims only about 5% get the itching and flaking. My impression is that about 50% might be far more accurate."

I wish there were accurate stats (as opposed to marketing stats) on itching and flaking and the Rogaine burn. The 50% number might even be optimistic.

matt
Posted on Sunday, January 04, 2004 - 10:47 am:   Edit Post Delete Post