Indole 3 Carbinol and Dermal Papillae... Log Out | Topics | Search
Hairloss-Reversible Home Page | Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Hairloss-reversible.com » Male Pattern Baldness » Indole 3 Carbinol and Dermal Papillae Cells « Previous Next »

Mikhail
Username: Mphatesmpb

Post Number: 4
Posted on Thursday, July 29, 2010 - 10:37 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post

I have limited knowledge of the cellular structure of hair follicles, so please correct any misconceptions that I have about the biology of hair loss.

I've read that the dermal papillae cells collectively act as a "control center" for the hair follicle. This seems to make sense since the capillaries nourishing the follicle are connected to the dermal papillae cells. The dermal papillae cells have also been noted to have androgen receptors to which DHT can bind itself. Although I have read other articles stating that MPB-induced hair loss is caused by DHT acting on the shaft portion of the hair follicle, I think that since the dermal papillae are considered the "control centers" for the hair follicle that MPB is more the result of DHT acting on the receptors in the dermal papillae cells. If MPB is in fact caused by DHT acting on the hair shaft, then I would imagine that the primary factor in MPB is DHT that is produced in the sebaceous glands, and then deposited on the hair shaft. The other possibility (the more likely one, in my opinion) is that MPB is caused by serum DHT acting on the androgen receptors of the dermal papillae cells.

Look at this article:
http://joe.endocrinology-journals.org/cgi/content/abstract/156/1/59

"Balding cells contained significantly (P < 0.01) greater levels of androgen receptors (Bmax = 0.06 +/- 0.01 fmol/10(4) cells (mean +/- S.E.M.)) than those from non-balding scalp (0.04 +/- 0.001). "